View Single Post
Old 01-31-2007, 10:33 PM
In Remembrance

15 yr Member
In Remembrance

15 yr Member
Default The Multiple Hits Explanation of PD

Some of you may remember the postings of Anne Frobert, the French MD and PWP who was experimenting with banding. She and I have been collaborating for about six months now to draw together four years of her work into a comprehensive picture of PD. And I really think she has managed to work it out. I am going to post various components of this complex picture over the coming weeks but, to avoid overwhelming everyone on the subject, I will try to do it in a more or less orderly fashion. The reason I am introducing this thread at this time is to make the point that the various threads that have sprung up are not mutually exclusive. They may all be right.

This relatively new way of looking at PD (and maybe other diseases as well) has been called the Multi Hits Theory and is an important departure from the previous thinking. It is complex but its very complexity opens up new avenues of treatment.

To introduce this new way of looking at PD and how it differs from the present approach, I use two analogies. Please bear with me because it is the type of thing that, while the details are complex, the overview is simple. But I need to practice these analogies.

The Old Way: We all live in a deep valley beside the Parkinson's River. It is a mighty river and no one knows where it begins but there are stories of a great spring at the foot of the mountain far up the valley. Some say it is called Mercury. Others Aluminum, Genetics, Pesticides, etc. All we really know is that the river floods and washes away our lives. There is much talk of going somewhere up the valley and digging a canal to carry the flood away, but the river is so strong and the valley so deep that every attempt has failed.