Thread: Voltage
View Single Post
Old 06-14-2010, 09:18 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default porphyrin and URO I

(excerpted from a letter I received from Ms. Rooney several yrs ago. I have been intrigued by the possibility of URO 1 being useful in PD, though have not pursued this avenue of inquiry. Michael's notation of protoporphyrin reminded me that this info was out there. This researcher /patient was interested in URO I for ALS. As to the usefulness/veracity of the infomation, I am clueless. Perhaps someone on this forum will be interested in determining if the info has any potential. madelyn)

"...because there really is a potent natural neuroprotector produced by the human body that has been successfully tested millions of times with very few problems but it continues to be overlooked. All of our livers produce it It is called uroporphyrin I (URO I). I have been studying it for 20 years and have used it to halt my own progressive neurological deterioration which has major aspects in common with ALS. It's the good stuff that the liver produces to protect against the CNS damage that the neurotoxic stuff that the liver makes and we all need it to protect our CNS. It's much more complicated than that, of course.

iron porphyrin has been tested without success. URO I is not iron porphyrin. It is much smaller and is one of the largest natural molecules that crosses the BBB. There is new research out that recognizes that there is at least one component of heme synthesis that is an antioxidant, "DNA and mRNA elements with complementary responses to hemin, antioxidant inducers, and iron control ferritin-L expression" Korry J. Hintze* and Elizabeth C. Theil*†‡
*Center for BioIron at CHORI, Children’s Hospital Oakland Research Institute, 5700 Martin Luther King Jr. Way, Oakland, CA 94609; and †Department of Nutritional Sciences and Toxicology, University of California, Morgan Hall, Berkeley, CA 94720