View Single Post
Old 06-19-2010, 01:19 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gemma17 View Post
So, I'm new here sorry if I post incorrectly or anything.

But anyway, I'm a high school student, and back in December slammed a car door closed against my head. My mom assumed it was just a bump, but I got worse, ended up in the ER. They said I had a concussion so I started seeing a neurologist. The whole painkiller thing didn't work, and he also tried a course of steroids that didn't do anything. In early February he put my on Topamax, but I just recently got off of that because it made me so spacey. I also hit my head pretty hard again in March which made me feel worse.

The problem I have now is I feel like something is wrong with me because something is still wrong with me. If that makes sense. People just assume that you're supposed to be fine a week after getting a concussion, and I feel like when I try to explain PCS and post traumatic headaches to them they just think I'm full of it. I'm going to go back to the neurologist this summer, but I even feel like he's tired of me. But I'm still getting random headaches or stabbing head pains everyday, and the fatigue is still there. The neurologist mentioned trying a blood pressure medication for the headaches, but I don't know if I can because my blood pressure runs low anyway.

So that was a really long post, but yeah. I guess I just want to find out if this is completely abnormal for me to still be feeling bad.