Thread: Mestinon
View Single Post
Old 06-25-2010, 08:41 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

I'm still kind of new to this myself, but my understanding of Mestinon is this: it is "boosting" a chemical that your body needs. With MG, weakness is caused because the body is producing antibodies which block the reception of acetylcholine (the chemical that stimulates muscles).

Mestinon is essentially acetylcholine, and by taking it, you are giving your body a "boost" that helps get more ACh to those receptors. Believe me, you will NEVER be able to take more than you need, because your body really doesn't want an excess amount of ACh - if you get too much, you will feel really bad!

My doctor had me start off with a small dosage, gradually increasing until I found the "right" amount for me. In my case, my bloodwork didn't show that I had any antibodies, so I think my doctor thought the meds wouldn't help. However, I was able to take 30mg w/o any effect whatsoever; 60mg with a slight improvement; 90mg with a noticable improvement; and 120mg with a "This is WAY too much" effect.

I got an official diagnosis of MG - based on my response to the medication and a Tensilon test - last Friday. Since then, we have been experimenting with dosages. I am currently taking a timed-release tablet at night, and 90mg every 4 hours when awake. So far, that seems to be what works for me.

I don't think that taking this while trying to get pregnant or while being pregnant should be a problem - goodness knows you want to keep your energy levels up during pregnancy! However, I am not a medical professional - be sure and check with your doctor to see what he/she recommends.