View Single Post
Old 07-07-2010, 03:45 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnieB3 View Post
Hi and welcome. I am so sorry your Dad is going through such a difficult time. I know how hard it is to have a sick father.

Does your Dad have an MG expert caring for him? It sounds like they are doing everything they can for his MG, though maybe not approaching the infection in the right way. I can only guess, since I'm not a doctor and don't know your Dad's entire condition.

An infection, especially aspiration pneumonia, is difficult to get rid of in MG. And it's especially hard while someone is on Pred. You can't always "see" evidence of an infection when you are immunosuppressed. Sometimes they have to do other tests like a ESR (erythrocyte sedimentation rate) or CRP (c-reactive protein), though those may be elevated due to his CIDP.

Can you say what food source he is receiving? Does he have a G-tube? Often what they give through a tube into the stomach is dairy-based. Dairy can cause an inflammatory response. Are they doing anything for inflammation in general, besides the Pred?

I would ask, if you don't know already, what other drugs he is receiving. I would almost bet he is getting Ativan. Any sedating drugs and a whole host of other drugs are relatively contraindicated in MG, especially when someone is in such bad shape. If you don't know all he is receiving, ask them. Always look to drugs as a cause.

Since he can't have anything orally, he can't have things like acidophilus to keep the good bacteria in the body. Ask them if they have an alternative to that.

Ask them if they have checked his B12. People with CIDP may benefit from a daily dose of that.

I realize that they want your Dad's muscles not to atrophy, which I am assuming is why they are doing PT. The problem is that the more he does right now, the worse he could get. Especially transporting him all over the place.