View Single Post
Old 07-17-2010, 08:09 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tracey nurse View Post
Let me introduce myself. My name is Tracey, I am a nurse up here in Canada, and am 18 months post-op of an endoscopic colloid cyst removal, and 17 months from finding out that I have a reoccurring colloid cyst in the same location.

I am here to say to all of you that are going through this, that I am an example of how life can go on and although I have a constant headache (which is well treated with a medication I take nightly), and some memory deficit (I have gotten pretty good at covering that!), I have been able to get back to the life that I left pre-surgery.

I did not know that I was walking around with this marble in my head, growing and causing the headaches that I was getting used to and somehow ignoring, until finally I decided that I must be coming down with something that was causing a migraine that I had never experienced before, and I laid down to rest and fell unconscious, only to be found TWO days later in my home by paramedics, still unconscious with obstructive hydrocephalus. I awoke with a shunt that had been placed to drain the fluid but the cyst was missed. A month later when the headaches persisted, the culprit was found and later removed in a procedure, though higher risk, but agreed upon to clamp the shunt to create a larger space again to endoscopically remove the cyst once and for all. A month after that, a reocurring cyst was found in the same location.