Thread: settlement ?
View Single Post
Old 07-22-2010, 03:26 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

I am not a lawyer.

I am also looking at settling with WC but not for RSD. I hope I am able to answer a few of your questions.

If your RSD is work related and being treated by WC, then I WOULD NOT SETTLE the medical portion of your claim. Your personal health insurance WILL NOT cover anything that is workers comp related even after you settle.

The cost to treat RSD over your life time could possibly be in the hundreds of thousands of dollars and if you settle the medical portion of your claim, then all of that expense will come out of your pocket and you will not even come close to settling your workers comp claim for that amount. You will receive a set amount from WC depending on your MMI Rating. And also remember, that your RSD can spread to other parts of your body and then you will have even more costs of doctor visits and meds.

I personal think it will be a huge mistake to settle your medical portion of your WC CLaim if you have RSD.