View Single Post
Old 07-24-2010, 10:09 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Many doctors don't understand how patients can be "happy" when they get an MG diagnosis - we're not happy because we have this disease, we're "happy" that we finally have a DEFINITE diagnosis and it's not all in our head! Some doctors will say, "You really don't want this", but they don't understand that once we have a name for what's been ailing us, we have a point from which to start. We can do research, talk to others who have the same thing, and in our case, there are medications that can help.

I'm still pretty new to all of this, but my DH and I were talking last night, and I said that it was good to have the Dx, because now I am able to listen to my body, and to allow myself to rest and not feel like I am a lazy slug. I NEED the rest, and now I don't feel guilty about stopping whatever I am doing when my body tells me it's time to take it easy.

You're going to go through the stages of grief, because your life won't be the same. However, you WILL get through this, and in a few months you will get used to your new "reality". We went through the same thing when our youngest was born with Down syndrome - we were sure that life would never be the same, but a few months later we realized that yes, things had changed, but we had adjusted and just moved on. Time marches on, whether we want it to or not.