View Single Post
Old 08-18-2010, 09:46 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Trouble with Questions?

Hello, 5 months have officially passed since my accident. Some things have gotten better: the brain fog is MUCH less, I can actually drive now and focus more and function better out in the world.

Some things have stayed the same: Ringing in my ears, not as aware of time, fatigue, overwhelm when overstimulated, major issues sleeping and more.

Today I finally figured out that I have trouble answering questions. In fact it may even freak me out, especially when there is more than one question. I get agitated and if the questions keep coming, I get distressed.

Something must have healed and moved out of the way for me to finally put this together...but I realize in my job as a massage therapist, I do all of the question asking: Where are you sore, Is this pressure too much/little, when would you like to book your next appointment, etc...

HOWEVER, when I get asked questions, I am noticing the slowness that takes over first. Well, gee...let me think about that....and then off to lala land I go.

This week I noticed it when I was asked by my chiropractor's assistant when I would like to book my next appointment...it was so hard to actually decide my own schedule.

I think she was flustered, than later I realized it was me that was flustered! I told her I had trouble from my head injury and that I was sorry for being so confusing. (it still feels like I'm giving some lame excuse for my behavior, except it is true!)

Tonite, I asked my boyfriend to hand me a pan to cook with (I pointed to the one I wanted) and he asked if I really wanted another one instead...it pushed me too far and I agitatedly said to give me a pan, any pan at this point!