View Single Post
Old 08-25-2010, 04:36 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by gabbycakes View Post
It's truly hard to advise a young adult on such a question but I will try. Amputation I believe does not even come on the radar when it comes to RSD. I have never heard of anyone having a amputation because of pain from RSD. I am assuming you have a pain doctor who you work with you state you have had many blocks etc. I have also had so many blocks and have done 3 - 5 day in-patient ketamine infusions and believe me they are not the end all. But that is a far better chose then amputation please don't think that. As far as insurance for amputation I have no experience sorry, but ketamine is tricky. My insurance did cover most of the procedure, hospital stay and I was in ICU. I did have to come up with a good amount for the actually ketamine itself and the monitoring of my doctor, each time I had to pay $3500 upfront. I was very lucky they covered it like they did. I did my treatments in 2005-2009. I have heard the complete opposite where insurance won't cover in-patient at all. I think it demends on the insurance company itself they all have there own rules when it comes to Ketamine Procedures, some will cover in-patient, some will only cover out-patient and won't cover anything.

You should really discuss this with your parents first and then have a discussion with your doctor. Hope all goes well and post anytime for advise.