View Single Post
Old 09-28-2010, 08:21 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Chiari or Crazy??

Hi everyone. Just joined NeuroTalk. I'm new so bear with me. I had posted an earlier thread about my Chiari. Here is the scoop. I am an emergency room nurse. I have had headaches since I was 16. I had a head on collision in 2001 and suffered a closed head injury. I went to see my PMD when I started having a "different" kind of headache. This headache was like none other I have ever experienced. It feels like the right side of my head is going to literally blow off, like a pressure cooker. The pain on the right side of my neck is at times almost unbearable. I have had weakness on my left side (not all the time) and my balance is off. Along with this I now have terrible right ear pain and pressure to the point that it is now causing a decrease in my hearing. Another thing I noticed is that my blood pressure is all over the place and my heart rate is now running over 100. I feel very absent minded at times with a decrease in my ability to remember things. Recently I have been hospitalized 3 times and even though it shows on my MRI (brain and neck) and CT that I have mild Chiari 1 Malfomation, the neurologist at the hospital said there was nothing wrong with me, and I need a psychiatric consult, yet he put me on seizure medicine for the new onset seizures I have been having. I am deeply saddened as a patient and as a nurse that there are not many doctors or nurses that understand this diagnosis. So, to wrap it up, I am now unable to work, unable to drive, I'm losing my apartment, my children are moving in with my father and I am losing everything I have worked so hard for. I have an appointment in Miami coming up but I am scared to tell him what my symptoms are in fear that they won't listen to me and my symptoms. I know my Chiari is "mild", yet the symptoms say otherwise. I am heading to Miami soon to see a neurologist down there but I am really concerned that he too, will