View Single Post
Old 09-29-2010, 09:43 AM
Wise Elder

15 yr Member
Wise Elder

15 yr Member

I was reading with interest your post on bottling up feelings.

I find I have been doing that for almost 8 years. My son left home over 8 years ago and we have not seen him since. It's been brutal, hell and whatever else you can call it. He is toxic to us and I had to put up such boundaries I cannot begin to tell you. And I did this with the advice and support of mental health professionals who know the whole story.

I just didn't go "No more contact with him". This took YEARS of soul searching and decision making. I even ran this by a friend who happens to be a psychologist who told me "Melody you must maintain your sanity, you did EXACTLY what you needed to do".

But when you put up walls, boundaries, etc, you take away some of your humanity. I gather this is why I was able to lose all the weight I had been carrying for so many years. I was an emotional eater and when you strip away emotions, you look at life, health, your body, well you look at it logically, not emotionaly and I got to the point where I said: "Enough is enough, I'm not carrying all this weight around, I don't want the complications of diabetes, blah blah blah", and I had absolutely NO difficulty whatsoever giving up all the junk and eating vegetarian and completely changing my behavior and eating habits. My brain must have changed dramatically for me to have been able to do this. My own doctor told me "I have never met anyone who could do this and not cheat.

It never occurs to me to cheat because I look at this logically and I don't reach for the nearest ding dong.