View Single Post
Old 10-02-2010, 03:51 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Hi Janen

Quote:
Originally Posted by janen View Post
I see so much information on SCS. My doctor is tellin me that the pain pump is my last option for my pain to go away from a bad hip replacement
3 years ago. I am looking for as much insight as possible.
Janen, I am not an expert on hip pain or what can be done after a hip replacement surgery but I do know about spinal cord stimulators and pain pumps. I have had three neurosurgeries which has left me with severe, chronic headaches and neck pain. I actually have a pain pump implant but unfortunately for me, it was unsuccessful. So, now the Doctors are recommending a SCS in my neck but for my situation, it is a long shot for helping my pain due to sevre scar tissue from the surgeries. It makes it difficult ffor them to get the leads in.

I know more about the SCS and how it works in the neck: so some of my information might not be entirely accurate but will try to give you as much info as I can. Depending on your type of pain and its' location, you could possibly be a candidate for a SCS or just a stimulator in general. The SCS include leads which are long wires with electrodes attached that will be placed into your spinal column with the intention that the electrodes will be able to get to the nerves that go to your hip or leg. If they can get the electrodes in the right location, the hope is that you will be able to feel the stimulation instead of the pain. However, I have no idea if it would work for your pain. You would do a trial first just like for a pain pump at a hospital or outpatient center (depends on Doctor) where they only put the wires in and see if it is helpful. If it is, then they will pull them out and wait until you heal before putting in the implant. The implant includes the leads and the machine that runs it which can be placed in many diffirent places such as your lower abdomen depending on where leads are.