Thread: Back to Work
View Single Post
Old 10-19-2010, 10:36 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoanB View Post
Oh well, the economy's bad, and I should be grateful, right?

Sorry for the self-pity party. And thanks for listening.
Well, yes and no.

If you've been searching for a job and finally one has opened up, that is great! It may not be the ideal job, but better than none.

However, if you think that it is going to cause your symptoms to get much worse, is it worth it?

I am 24 and the week after I graduated college, I was bedridden... that was 6 months ago. I would -love- to have a job.. but I am totally unable to function and take care of myself as is... so getting a job would be pointless. I wouldn't even make it through one hour let alone one day.

But it sounds like you are in a slightly different situation and have been wanting to get back to work. So, I am glad that you were able to find a job.

But I'm not sure that anything is worth the risk of making the symptoms flare up... at least in my experience, doing things that hurt me have made the PN much worse all the time--it's not as if I push myself and overdo it and then two days later I'm back to "normal". Anytime I do things that hurt me, it has a long lasting effect. If that isn't the case with you, then maybe the job will be a blessing.

Either way... I didn't think your post was a pity party. This is what the forum is here for--to talk to others in similar situations and get advice and support. Nothing wrong with that.