View Single Post
Old 11-17-2010, 06:28 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Laugh A Newbie

Good morning to all. I'm a newbie. Been lurking for a time, but figured I might as well jump in.

I was in a serious car accident on 1/13/10. Only injury was to my left leg which took the brunt of the impact. ER Dr said go home put it up, go back to work on Monday, it is just a bad bruise. I've had bruises before, never anything like this pain.
Because I was (1) driving, there is car insurance, (2) working, worker's comp, (3) gov't worker, so I get to deal with the US Dept of Labor. And right up front, none of them give one whit about me. But my paperwork is out of control. Because worker's comp trumps car insurance, WC is in control and eventually will be reimbursed for all expense, which won't be much because they won't approve anything.
I knew from the beginning something was wrong because of the level of pain I was having. I went to the Dr every week. Always another solution. Wear the white support hose, I don't care if the pain of having them on is excrusiating, wear them anyway. You should be wrapping it. An ultrasound two weeks later showed my leg was full of blood. It will just absorb back in, no treatment necessary. You shouldn't be wrapping it, that will increase your pain. If you were hungry enough you could go back to work.(The fact that my leg was twice as big as the other was lost on them somehow.) The finally said 'let's try PT' and to my amazement, I think I got the world's most wonderful therapist. He actually said "wow, you have some issues here!" That in itself was therapeutic. After a month of deep massage, I was amazed at the remarkable advancement I had made. One day back to work and I couldn't even tell I had a knee.