View Single Post
Old 01-26-2011, 06:32 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default misfolding prion/protein diseases

Since I am new to the discussion, I am not allowed to post links. You can contact me for the URLs/links **

In mid December 2010, I posted a file to the Internet detailing studies and articles by scientists who believe Alzheimer's is a misfolding prion/protein disease: On pages 33 and 34, I cited the Parkinson's/prion disease work by Dr. Olanow and Dr. Prusiner.

I have noticed an interesting commonality of prion/protein misfolding diseases: the neuropathology finds that most all of them have neurofibrillary tangles in the brain.

Explanation of neurofibrillary tangles:

Alzheimer’s destroys the nerve cells that process, store and retrieve information in the brain. This nerve cell destruction is thought to be the result of accumulation of amyloid plaques and neurofibrillary tangles. Amyloid is a general term for protein fragments that the body produces normally. In a healthy brain, these protein fragments would be broken down and eliminated. In AD patients, the fragments accumulate to form hard, insoluble plaques. Neurofibrillary tangles are insoluble twisted strands of a protein called tau protein that form inside brain cells. Scientists do not yet know whether the plaques or tangles cause AD or are a byproduct of some other process. "

To confirm, Google "neurofibrillary tangles" and the neurodegenerative disease of choice: Alzheimer's, Parkinson's, Creutzfeldt Jakob, DLB Dementia with Lewy bodies, FTLB (frontotemporal lobar degeneration), ALS - Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, GSS - Gerstmann-Straussler syndrome, and now, very disturbing - autism.

If the scientists are correct, and Alzheimer's IS a misfolding prion/protein disease, then it is not confined to the elderly. Victims of early onset Alzheimer's (ages 50 to 64) are soaring.

And now the scientists suspect children and young adults with autism may also be prion disease victims . . .