View Single Post
Old 02-19-2011, 12:50 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

I have been a fitness instructor for approximately 20 years. Yoga instructor for 6 and TOS sufferer for 25 years. However, I suppose I am a bit different in that I have a large cervical rib, my tos has developed over time, but without yoga, I can't imagine where I would be right now, probably chopped-up before necessary.

I would recommend yoga to everyone; however, very few yoga instructors understand TOS let alone know what it is. I happen to have a degree in kinesiology, and with my symptoms, really know how and what is right. For example, in Eagle, you would want to crisscross your forearms in an x across your chest and place your palms on opposite shoulders. But, there are very few poses that area unavailable, in fact, with the right modifications, I can't think of any pose that is unavailable.

For everyday fitness, I practice power yoga, a little less intense would be a vinyasa style. For flare-ups, I will do bikram, aka hot yoga. Specifically, I love the Bikram shalambasana or locust pose. I do it a bit differently, at the point when they call to lift both legs, I left my legs and my chest (by millimeters) this is an awesome nerve glide when your body is at it's most flexible!