View Single Post
Old 03-09-2011, 10:33 AM
Wise Elder

15 yr Member
Wise Elder

15 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaspar View Post
I just received the hefty book. I am torn between starting this one or "The China Study" which a family member is insisting I read "immediately."
Hi Jaspar:

I just purchased the China Study from Ebay. I was so fascinated by what I read (in the description), that I just had to get it.

I grow my own sprouts and I've been eating healthy for 5 years. I do eat chicken and the occasional bison burger and recently began this once a week binge eating plan that revs up one's metabolism. But honestly, I don't like how my body feels the next day after eating more than usual. I am so not used to eating like this.

So I have about 20 or so more lbs to do and I'll just either walk more, or do whatever I have to do to lose the last 20 but I don't think I'll do the binge thing any more. There is scientific evidence to back up this binge eating once a week (I saw it on the Dr. Oz show), but for ME, I don't think I can do this any more. I just felt tired, lethargic and yucky the next day.

When you grow your own food, and eat a plant based diet, and on that one day (the binge day), you load up with stuff you don't normally eat, so your thyroid gets a boost, and your metabolism gets a boost, well it might work and be good for a 20 to 30 year old, but this 63 year old, well I don't like how I feel. I very much DO like how I feel when I eat a plant based diet. My tummy likes it to.

I lost a few pounds but honestly I really don't think I can do the binge diet any more. Too much food for a gal that's been eating SO sensibly for years.

I'll find another way to boost my metabolism, and if I don't, well I don't. I've lost over 100 lbs (took me a long long time), and hey, I look fine.

My doctor is also happy with my numbers.