Thread: Which surgery
View Single Post
Old 03-28-2011, 04:58 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by diane54 View Post
Leesa, I know you are only trying to help some of us to decide whether to get surgery or not. I was really scared by your post of not to get surgery and almost considered canceling, until I talked to my physician and he said that the "success stories are not posting very much on forums -- after they heal and recover, they get back to life and don't have a need to read the forums." I am a newbie here, but a very positive person and realize the dangers of surgery, but also am frustrated by the pain and lack of ability to do the things I love -- tennis, golf, and so on.

I have gone to PT 43 times, physiatrist, massage therapy too many times to count and have had a good outcome with epidurals but doesn't last long enough.

I think we have to try to make an informed decision, but just realize not everyone will have an awful outcome. I feel bad for you that your outcome was not what you hoped for but others have had good outcomes with the surgery.

I work in the medical field and I trust the doctors I go to give me good advice. The person who you are answering is looking for advice on a discogram, so it means the physicians are looking for the disc causing her pain which is a good thing to do before surgery, even tho this is a painful test.

It has taken me 18 months to make a decision to get surgery and I am getting one more opinion next week and may even switch to this NS since he comes highly recommended.

I thank you for making us aware of the dangers of surgery, but for some surgery is a viable option to be considered AFTER all other avenues have been explored.

Sorry for the long post, but I had to vent.

Hope every one has a pain-free day!
Dear Leesa,