View Single Post
Old 03-03-2007, 08:00 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default Hello I am new too!

Dear Rob,

Hello and welcome to this forum. I, like you, am new to all of this, I made my first post yesterday. I absolutely agree that this forum is excellent. I too had been reading the posts here before I plucked up the courage to post myself.

I am by no means an expert on PN and I am still waiting for a firm diagnosis (I see a consultant neurologist on Monday) but I absolutely understand what you are going through. My nightmare with all this also started 3 months ago! So far all my blood tests have be “normal” but I am still waiting for the B12 result, but like you I have started to take B12 supplements. I have had a nerve conduction test (normal) but no other tests apart from blood tests.

I think the worse thing is not knowing, so it is good that you have the EMG test coming up so soon, although I know if you are anything like me it will be a difficult and worrying time until you get the results. I understand from Melody on this forum that this is a pretty conclusive test for PN. I hope that the neurologist I see will do one, I will certainly ask for one to be done. I live in the UK and it takes ages to get tests done because our national health service is strapped fro cash, but I hope it won't be too long.