View Single Post
Old 04-18-2011, 07:57 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Musician with TOS

Hello,

Was wondering if anyone out there could help me with some of my questions.

I am a classical guitarist and I have been having a lot of problems with my left hand.
About 4 years ago i noticed that my hand wasn't functioning as good as it was. I started to complain of my hand being dead and non-responsive. My fingers started to miss hit. Even if it was a simple passage of music physically to play, I would some how find it really hard to get there (fretboard).
About 2 years ago more worrying signs occurred. I would be able to play ok for say a week, then I would have to take a few days off. It then got a bit better after that, played for another week, needed those days off again. Then the rest time increased to say a week rest 2 days play. Than a month rest a few days play. Till I could barely play properly at all. All this time I didn't have any pain. My hand was just dead, numb and i got pins and needles.
Saw so many doctors and physios. Some saying this, some saying that. All saying I can fix you.
I was still getting no where.
People where saying it is all in your head. I thought, maybe it is. I tried different ways of thinking. Was trying to change things with my "mind power" total rubbish I thought, but I try to be open to everything until i can prove it wrong.
I then researched TOS. I had a lot of those symptoms. I saw a neurosurgeon, then a vascular surgeon.
I spent about 10 minutes with the vascular surgeon, then I was out the door and booked for surgery the next week.
Bit of jump after years of trouble.
Had the surgery (rib removal) surgeon came in really happy afterwards saying "you had huge compression on one of your arteries and nerves, from fibrous tissue" and other things, can't really remember his exact words. I have a cervical rib where there was tissue growing.
I was so happy, They found a physical problem.