View Single Post
Old 06-09-2011, 02:07 PM
Wisest Elder Ever

15 yr Member
Wisest Elder Ever

15 yr Member
Lightbulb

That looks like alot of effort, you put in to this discussion.

I only look at studies when I have no personal experience in an area, or when an area is "new" or rare.

For 40 yrs I've dealt with patients who complain or worry about their medications. Who have negative experiences, or who are not getting what they expected, etc.

Prescribing data, and data off the drug insert is typically taken off short lived studies. Post operative pain, is rather unique and short lived for most patients. Also it can be subject to fraud as we learned about Pfizer and Celebrex, and Dr. Reuben:
http://www.theday.com/article/201001...100119833/1047
I tend to think these post operative studies are drug company funded to give them leverage with sales/marketing etc.

Insert reports do not often include post marketing data, unless it is extreme and dangerous, and getting that added may take a decade or more in some cases. Nausea? not like aplastic anemia or metabolic acidosis. The latter two might get added more quickly.

Basically when people get discharged home, with meds, and it is late at night and they cannot call their doctors, etc, they call me. I've had many many opiate side effects including Sphincter of Oddi attacks which are alarming in the extreme.

But nausea, is a biggie and more common with codeine, and morphine. Oxycodone and hydrocodone may cause nausea in high doses, and also severe itching spells at moderate doses.