View Single Post
Old 07-01-2011, 12:38 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Hi Annie,

I know you have had very bad experiences with doctors. I did too, but as a physician I can possibly see it a bit differently. And therefore be more hopeful about it.

Overall physicians are people, and most people find it hard to change what they think (be it political, religious or any other thoughts or beliefs they have, even in arts and music ). And obviously some more then others.

I think that the advantage of modern medicine (as opposed to other healing approaches) is that it constantly questions the "truth". Nothing is sacred in our textbooks or journal articles. We constantly write "letters to the editors" that question the validity of the conclusions of certain articles, or raise new questions etc. Yet, in medicine and also in science you do have to work hard to convince people to accept what doesn't fully fit with what they know and understand. Many times it takes more then one person or group to gradually gather the evidence. But, more times then not it will happen eventually.

An excellent teacher I had in medical school told us that half of what is written in our textbook is going to be incorrect 20 years from now. The problem is that he can't tell us which half. And he was quite right.
There are numerous examples I can give you-medications that were contraindicated in heart failure are now used to treat heart failure. the approach to peptic ulcer has changed 180 degrees, etc. etc. my field of practice-hematology, is one of the fields that evolved tremendously (and still is). On the other side of the spectrum is neurology, which has changed much less. And I think the main reason for that is that it is much less accessible for research. I can take my patients samples to the lab at the end of the day. they can't take a "slice" of the brain, or the nerve or the muscle.