View Single Post
Old 03-13-2007, 08:35 AM
In Remembrance

15 yr Member
In Remembrance

15 yr Member

Hi KateLynne and others who posted here,

First, while I don't know anything about his anatomy, the urethra is generally larger than a pin, so "pindick" is probably not the right word to describe him.

He is, however, a male, and we males usually have to work at overcoming the belief that our penis somehow makes us superior to women. As a physician, I'm guessing he probably assumes that the fact that more women than men suffer from this disease means it is probably psychosomatic (it is no coincidence that "hysterectomy" and "hysteria" sound much the same; it was not all that long ago that doctors believed that removing the ovaries, the source of many hormones, made women saner); beliefs are in the brain, which is in the head. I suggest that dickhead is a more appropriate classification.

Now, as to your RSD: is your skin in affected areas blue to purplish in color? Does 60 degrees feel like frostbite? Cyanosis is almost as common as burning pain and allodynia in this disease. How does he explain this in the context of a pain syndrome?

Like most physicians, he certainly knows that glove-effect pain, whether of just the hand or foot or an entire limb, is most likely either malingering or evidence of a psychosomatic disorder. Guessing again, he probably thinks we are probably somehow able to affect the sympathetic nervous system; causing vasoconstriction that would explain the cyanosis, but a Doppler blood flow study would exclude SNS vasoconstriction.

You could try to challenge his distorted views, even try to educate him about the facts of RSD, but why bother? His mind is already made up, and you need to seek the treatment he refuses to provide. I agree with nearly everyone else who had posted here, dump the jerk and find a doc who believes you.