15 yr Member
Legendary

15 yr Member
Red face how's this for passive-aggressive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mari View Post
1. put you in a place for an immediate change
2 put you in a place for a change in the near term
2. put you in a place for change sometime in the future.
i am not good at plans. in fact i am pretty bad at plans. i don't like them.
generally i get an idea or a feeling and it stirs until it either goes away or i act on it. right now what is stirring in my head is very negative:-

i keep having thoughts about what can i do to get myself fired. if i do i will lose both the client and the contractor. i may or may not lose respect from my parents but, knowing i orchestrated it, i will surely lose self-respect.

conversely if i quit, i may lose some self-respect for not sticking things out, and will certainly lose respect from my parents - for not getting another job first.

what sucks though, is that my mother insists complete this contract before changing jobs because this contractor "helped me" when i was jobless and nobody else did. but i can see a business shark in him, and i am certain he did not "take me under his wing" out of the goodness of his heart. my low economic expectations gave him opportunity pitch me to clients for a good bit higher.

the first contract he may not have had a huge margin due to the middleman. but with this current contract, there is no-one else between him and the client. so i asked him if i could make a little more - split the difference... he said NO, that he wanted to make up (on his side) for the previous contract, where the rate was devastatingly low (really??? sorry, i don't buy it... not for the expectations placed on me there!)