View Single Post
Old 09-27-2011, 11:17 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

Hi Jeanne. I am not a doctor and I haven't stayed at a Holiday Inn Express in over a month. But I can give you a very brief translation of what they are saying. I am not a professional...so listen to the professionals you are paying for their opinions. My opinion is probably worth exactly what you are paying for it. With that out of the way...

Quote:
Originally Posted by poormommy View Post
There are five small T2 hyperintense fooci scattered within the left periventricular white matter. These are variable size ranging from a couple of millimeters up to approxiamately 4.5 mm. There is also a thin rim of periventricular T2 increased signal at the posteerior aspect of the lateral ventricle on the left. There is a single 9.8 mm oval-shape T2 hyperintense focus within the posterior aspect of the right periventricular white matter.
A "T2 hyperintense foci" is a really fancy doctor word for a "bright spot". What they are saying is that there are 5 bright spots on one of the scans. You commonly hear them referred to as "lesions" here, but without secondary correlation is is impossible to determine exactly what they are. Generally, bright spots reflect areas where the myelin has been damaged. Myelin is the protective sheath that surrounds bundles of nerves. Areas where it has been damaged (by any cause) will show up as bright spots. Neurologists use clues like the size, shape, location, and whether the bright spot is "enhanced" when contrast is added" to determine what might be causing them

The text you quoted also describes the size and location of the spots(periventricular white matter is a very common location for MS lesions), and also mentions a "rim" of brightness along the edge of the ventricle, which is also common in MS and some other diseases.

Quote:
Originally Posted by poormommy View Post