View Single Post
Old 10-05-2011, 03:32 PM
kittycapucine1974

kittycapucine1974

Default Hypothyroidism, organs shutdown, and death

Hi, everybody:

I have an underactive thyroid (hypothyroidism). I had a blood test, which showed a TSH level of 5.64 mUI/l. I do not know what kind of hypothyroidism I have. It could be Hashimoto's or something else. Since I am very new to hypothyroidism, I have several questions:

1) Is Hashimoto's hypothyroidism the only kind of hypothyroidism that can kill a person? If not, can all kinds of hypothyroidism kill a person?

2) How does hypothyroidism kill a person? By shutting down this person's internal organs?

3) How can I know if my internal organs are shutting down and I am thus in danger of dying? In this case, is it too late for Emergency Room doctors to save me?

4) How long can a person with untreated hypothyroidism live? My primary care doctor does not seem interested in treating this disease. My endocrinologist does test after test, but what I need is treatment, because this disease is getting harder and harder to stand as the days and weeks go by.

I have a two-year-old baby boy who has no father. My parents hate my son because he is not my biological child. I adopted this baby because I cannot produce children, because I looove children, and because my best friend, who was pregnant and who did not want to keep the baby, offered that I adopt him or she would have to have an abortion if I refused to).

I do not regret adopting this child because he is sooo LOVING! In fact, I have never seen such a loving child. When he sees me crying in pain (I have generalized internal chronic RSD), he climbs onto my lap, hugs me, kisses my cheeks, wipes off my tears with his little hands, tells me "Baby love Mommy", and pats me on the head. I guess he learned to do this because I always do this to him when he cries.