View Single Post
Old 10-27-2011, 02:33 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default Cat bites and broken legs

Carey
I remember that cat bite. It was surreal tha you ended up staying in the hospital, and it was your own cat - noot some stray that attacked you!

Linda said I have been hearing hospital horror stories like Paula’s since I was diagnosed 15 years ago. It’s time to say “NO MORE” . And I have had PD for going on 18 years. Not only have I been hearing about this kind of thing, I have experienced it!

The first was during an outpatient short-stay hospitalzation for bladder surgery. When I showed up early that morning to have surgery, everthing got quiet, then various hospital staff were running in and out of the surgical "hold" area asking me questions. Then I started asking questions. It seems the anesthesiologist was refusing to put me to sleep. Why??!! This surgery had been planned for weeks, but the only one paying close attention was the anesthesiologist.

You see, if you take an MAO-Inhibitor (such as Selegeline/Eldepryl or Rasagiline/Azilect; you have to clear that med from your system (preferably 14 days prior to surgery) due to the fact that the anesthesia meds and gases can interact and be fatal. Oh! Just a minor detail overlooked! Now, how many reading this knew that? Not many, I am certain.