View Single Post
Old 11-01-2011, 02:46 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Won reconsideration appeal

I won my reconsideration appeal for SSDI.
I originaly applied 9/2009 from a car accident in 8/2008 that left me with double vision, psycological and nuerological problems. In Mar, 2010 I had eye surgery that corrected my double vision. They sent me to their Dr., a internal medicine Dr., who saw me for about 15 mins. and would not listen to my complaints. Next, they sent me to their psycologist/ marriage counseler/ minister (I checked his background) who was supposed to give me tests that were supposed to last about 3 hrs. It took him about 30 mins. SSDI approved back pay from 9/2008 to 5/2010 (minus the 5 mo. waiting period). This was a closed end settlement with no monthly benefit. They said from the medical information that was now able to work since I no longer had double vision. (I was a electrician and 43 yrs. old). This was Jan, 2011. I Immediatly filed a reconsideration appeal. I noted in the appeal form that the psycologist they sent me to, only saw me a brief period and seemed to be in a hurry and was very unprofessional. In Aug 2011 they sent me to their psychiatrist who spent about 3 hrs with me. On Oct 28,2011, I received my "Notice of Award" for monthly benefits. They even put me on Medicare for $115 a mo. (ouch).
I've been reading this forum for a couple of years but never joined but I learned alot and I appreciate having access to it.