View Single Post
Old 11-11-2011, 02:02 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default First MG symptoms

My first MG symptoms were more then 20 years ago, when I was a med student. I started finding it hard to tell my son his bed-time stories in the evening. And then started being more tired then usual during the day, sort of dragging myself, instead of walking fast or even running up the steps as I used to do.I didn't think I was ill, just a med. student with a 2 year old boy.

A brilliant friend I was studying with noticed that I had a slight droop of my left eye-lid and that the book I was holding was gradually going down. The next day after school, she brought one of the neurology residents to see if her diagnosis was correct. He took me to his office and started asking questions to which I answered-yes. Are you extremely tired in the evening? do you sometimes find it hard to hold something (yes, pick up my son. just thought he was growing heavier), do you find it harder to climb steps (yes, I could run a few flights and now I can hardly go up slowly).

He then did a brief neurological examination, took some blood tests and told me he wants to do a quick bed-side test. I was a medical student so I realized what he is doing. But, even though, I was surprised at how great it made me feel. I didn't realize how weak I was, until I felt the difference.
He too saw it. After a short while it totally faded. He took out a box of mestinon pills and gave it to me- Your friend is right. He said. You definitely have myasthenia, and this will make you feel much better.