View Single Post
Old 11-25-2011, 12:45 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neofate View Post
Methyl-B12 , I will have a look. I've tried ALOT of supplements, generally giving up after 3-4 months on them over the years.. nothing has really done any good. I will try this though.

Is this something that takes effect in hours, or weeks+ ?
Check out the wonderful B12 thread here: http://neurotalk.psychcentral.com/thread85103.html

When I first starting taking B12 it took about a week to notice the effects, but now that I am taking them regularly I notice an effect within an hour usually. I take one every morning before eating but also carry them around in my pocket if I am away from home. If I start feeling weak, I take a second or even third B12 vitamin during the day.

I am no expert in vitamins of course, but have heard that so many others on this forum have great results from this particular vitamin. It is not a cure for MG though, but definitely helpful even if you don't have MG.

About how you feel when you get up, I suspect this is variable with MG. In the past, my best times were in the morning after sleeping, but in recent months I feel best in the evening and weak in the morning. I have a difficult time getting out of bed and it takes me a while to get onto my feet. It might be that I have another issue, maybe with my thyroid but I haven't been to the doctor yet so I don't know.

My double vision is my least favorite thing. Recently I've been lucky only to have only slight double vision. In the past I had such bad double vision that I couldn't even see in front of me, my vision was just a swirl of colors. My vision sometimes shakes the way you described.