View Single Post
Old 12-26-2011, 11:28 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Not necessarily stress about unruptured cerebral aneurysms

Hi Kyrie,
My name is Mike, and I'm a neurosurgery physician assistant. It sounds like your aneurysm is small (if it was misdiagnosed on imaging) and therefore probably best watched/monitored. I hope you don't smoke or have hypertension, because those are the two biggest risk factors for hemorrhage. Also if you have a rare condition called familiar polycystic kidney disease, you would have to be hyper-aware of cerebral aneurysms. Remember, most people with aneurysms die with them... unruptured. What I mean is, aneurysms are not the cause of death; cancer, diabetes, heart disease etc. are the real killers.

What may eat u up psychologically is thinking you have a "ticking time bomb" in your head. Since your post describes a lot of anxiety and stress, I highly recommend reading up "nonruptured" or "unruptured" aneurysms. Treatment varies by location. In general, and this is only "in general," an middle cerebral artery aneurysm is treated with craniotomy, and a basilar tiip aneurysm is treated by endovascular coiling. ** Best of luck.
Mike

Quote: