View Single Post
Old 01-20-2012, 11:50 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Thank you for the great information

Thank you Doc for your response to my question. I started with a 300mg dose of the neurontin. I was to begin with one cap daily but the pain has been so incredibly intense that my doctor had me start the dose twice daily instead. I do know about the site Drugs.com and use it often. I was a hospital Pharmacy Tech for several years before becoming disabled so I keep a close watch on my medicines. I feel that a pharmacist is a much better resource for the pharmacology of drugs than a doctor is as docs only receive very few classes in med school on the subject. My ex-husband is also a clinical hospital pharmacist as well...
The issue that I often have is that I seem to often have what my doctors have called my reactions to drugs as "paradoxical effects". Very often I react oppositely to what the drug is supposed to do for me. I'm not so sure if I'm explaining this well right now as I am on alot of meds but I do know now after what u have explained to me that the first dose I took must have been what took the pain away. Why it isn't working now I can't explain. I think my doctor is confused by the fact that nuerontin is also used to treat depression and it does take a few weeks to take effect in those cases.