View Single Post
Old 01-30-2012, 08:20 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Oh, your story sounds so much like my life about a year ago!!

I was a high school English teacher -- multitasking all the time and doing zillion things at work and at home. I also had mild depression pre-concussion that got much worse after.

I tried to go back to work after resting for a week. I set myself back and had to take off the entire second semester.

I went back to work part time in a one-to-one setting this fall but just recently my employer and I decided that even that was too much and so I have been medically terminated. It was very very hard to let my job (and health insurance) go. It was a major part of keeping our family afloat financially, so now we are in the midst of many adjustments, some of which include applying for food and energy assistance from the state.

I totally relate to not being able to do any "normal" relaxing things, too. I love to read and had a whole pile of books waiting for time to read. I got injured and had all the time in the world, but still couldn't read them. Also couldn't watch TV or crochet or play Scrabble or virtually anything I had been used to doing.

On my SuperBetter blog, you can find the list of things I eventually found that helped keep me occupied without hurting me: http://eowynridesagain.wordpress.com/game-basics/

(Incidentally, SuperBetter is in clinical trials now at http://www.superbetter.com if you want to give it a shot)