View Single Post
Old 02-02-2012, 04:00 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Getting a concussion at this stage of your life is going to be the hardest. Your already dealing with the pressures of being a teenager and having this thrown into the mix doesn't help. I know this because I got 3 successive concussions in 6 months when I was 16 and 2 more in the last 6 months.

Now at 22 I am still dealing with things very similar to what you are and have been for the last 6 years. Like you I was a straight A student and never worked for it but then i fell to a 70% avg student. I ended up having to take an extra year in high school since i couldnt earn all my credits to graduate in time and it was so embarrassing. I wasn't ready to give up and jumped into a full course load my first year of university. Since i pushed myself and just wanted to be like everyone else, i ended up overloading myself and dropping out. I dont regret that decision though because even though it was not the smartest thing, at least I can say I tried and that is when i found my boundries.

Parents/teachers/peers wont ever understand what your going through. If they havent experienced it themselves and can't see the problem, they think you can just get over it and they move on while your still in the same position which is frustrating. All you can do is keep repeating yourself to them and hope one day it sinks in. If you have some really close friends that dont understand and they are important to you, take them to a doctors appointment so they can hear it from a professional. That's when it will become real for them.