View Single Post
Old 03-03-2012, 06:59 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

I grew up in Southern California but attended college in Alabama as well as my first job after college. After 10+ years, I moved back SoCal at the end of 2005. A few weeks before moving I had a low speed accident where I rear ended a truck that had stopped abruptly while I was distracted. I did not believe I had any injury. My new job I worked from a home office but I did a lot of driving and flying to cover my new sales territory. As an engineer I was also carrying 50 lb demo kit in addition to my laptop and luggage. I was working solely from a laptop. Hunching over it in airports, airplanes, and working on the couch.

In 2007 I knew something was wrong. I had always been active and played basketball for the college team. I noticed that I didn't have my normal strength when I rebounded or tried a layup when my arm was somewhat behind my head. I had random shooting pains in my shoulders. My primary care doc sub-specializes in sports medicine. He MRI'd my shoulders and determined it was just rotator cuff tendonitis/bursitis and sent me to PT. The therapist only made me worse. I sneezed in the shower and went to the floor with pain shooting from my trapezius down the scapula and I could barely get up. My doc gave me a Medrol Dosepak and that seemed to clear everything up for a month or so. I never went back to that therapist. When the pain returned, it seemed to be centered in the upper trapezius on both sides. Celebrex seemed to help matters but each time I noticed improvement I would shortly regress further.