Thread: sympathectomy?
View Single Post
Old 03-24-2012, 05:32 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupus777 View Post
Hi everybody,
I am new to the boards. I was wondering if anybody knows anything about sympathectomy surgey. I had been suffering from thoracic outlet syndrome with brachial plexus injury for 15 years. I have been diagnosed with RSD for the past two years. I had tried a SCS, nerve blocks, pt, ot and now my pm dr says I should consider sympathectomy surgery. Has anyone had this surgery or have information about it? Or any other ideas. I am about to lose my mind . I am a teacher, but i haven' t been working much lately. The pain makes me vomit. I take meds but they don't help much. I feel useless. Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Lupus
Lupus,
I am so sorry you are in so much pain. What meds are you on for it?

I haven't heard much good about sympathectomy. I hear you can be much worse off by having one.

Have you tried Aqua Therapy in a heated pool of about 92 or 93 degrees? I am having good success with aqua therapy. I most likely will never be able to do land therapy. My muscles lock up when I get cold. The warm water is soothing to the sympathetic nervous system and often calms my pain. It is very relaxing. Also have you been to a good OT? My OT taught me a brushing and pressure technique which helps calm down nerve pain. I use a surgical brush for the brushing technique. I use a paraffin bath on both my hands and feet to help calm the pain and nerve activity as well. I also use a heated blanket throw and a heated mattress pad. Cold is my enemy.