View Single Post
Old 04-08-2007, 05:24 AM
Anonymous82911

Anonymous82911

Default Advice? 1st Dr. appt seeking diagnosis

Hi all.

Wondering if I have TLE—new to this; been reading Flaherty, LaPlante, Geshwind, etc.

I'm looking for advice on what to/how to say in my upcoming appt. with an internist (not sched. yet and it will be someone unfamiliar to me) as far as symptoms and suggestions. It's my first time bringing any epilepsy-related issues to a Dr. for diagnosis.

I've been treated for depression many, many years, and severe depression for about 8 years now--knocked me out grad school. Haven't worked or done school since; on SSDI. I'm classified as bi-polar II, in which the person doesn't get quite manic, but hypomanic. Some OCD going on.

My background of getting to this point:

I came across hypergraphia this week, knowing that I've been afflicted but without a label or diagnosis or knowledge that it was a recognized disorder/trait. I came upon reading the stuff about Geschwind and his syndrome typography--it describes me to a "T"--and TLE issues. Saw my psychiatrist after this reading and rasied the TLE issue. His major comment was that many of the things I mentioned are commonly present with bio-polar (not usu. with bi-polar II/hypomania to such a major extent as present with me). He said see an internist and then maybe a neuro.

Aside from the personality traits ala Geshwind the things that strike me as potential seizure(s)-related episodes:

Nocturnal-experience of seeming to wake up mentally but not physically; in enormous fear; unable to move; not sure if awake or asleep. Sometimes I wake-up, sometimes not (I think) & recalled in morning. This sounds like sleep paralysis, too. I only think of these as possibly TLE-related from my recent reading.