Thread: Smoking and MS
View Single Post
Old 05-17-2012, 09:46 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undecided80 View Post
Thank you so much for your enlightening reply. Hearing about real comparisons is what I need and you have done that perfectly. I have noticed the less I smoke my symptoms aren't as bad, and was just curious as to why and how that would be. I know smoking depletes oxygen, and was wondering how that worked in with the inflammation? How does swelling occur with lack of oxygen? Sorry if I'm asking silly questions, I'm new to all this with just being diagnosed Oct 2011.

Thank you again.
These aren't silly questions! I enjoy thoughtful posts that result in stimulating conversation. This is how we learn and then share what we know.

This article offered some thoughts on the nuts and bolts of why smoking might be extra bad for people with ms. From: http://aje.oxfordjournals.org/content/154/1/69.full

"How smoking may be related to the increased incidence of MS is unclear. The link might depend on the immuno-modulatory effects of smoking, although the evidence is sketchy. Different components of cigarette smoke may cause either immunosuppression (e.g., nicotine) or immuno-stimulation (e.g., tobacco glycoprotein) (3, 4). A predisposition to autoimmune responses in smokers has been suggested (34), and indeed, smoking has been found to be associated with an elevated risk of developing some autoimmune diseases, such as rheumatoid arthritis (8⇔⇔⇔–12), systemic lupus erythematosus (6, 7), Graves' disease (35, 36), and Crohn's disease (37), but not others, such as Hashimoto's thyroiditis (36) and ulcerative colitis (37).