View Single Post
Old 06-17-2012, 01:51 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hampster63 View Post
Thank you sooooo much. You really did make a big difference. I will try to stress less and keep up the hopes of improvement. You really hit the nail on the head in covering all my displeasure. Your suggestion to focus on other activity goes a long way, and it does work because at times I am able to just turn off the pain mode and just push thru. By the way what do you do and where do you work? I don't think I remember you says what it is you do. It sounds exhausting and physically draining, how do you do it????? Again, thank you and I will keep you posted.
I'm an assistant store manager for a big box retail store. It is a very physical job and I am literally on my feet for 9+ hours a day and am lucky if I sit 30 minutes during that entire shift...usually just a minute or two at a time to check sales, email, etc. And that doesn't take into account the fixture moves, putting out product, etc which are all very taxing on me physically.

The good news is that in my 2 weeks now back at work I've been able to work in all of my departments and do projects and it seems to be going okay. I obviously have to do things differently since I need to use the walker but the important thing is that I can still DO them. I actually did a couple of "carry outs" for customers and "carried" their vacuums and steam cleaners to the car...by which I mean I put then on my walker and pushed them out there. I'm making it work. It's still frustrating because I was so much faster and could do things so much easier before...the walker is a real pain. But it is what it is. The more I do things, the more efficient I will get at doing them this new way.