View Single Post
Old 08-07-2012, 03:59 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Question what exactly does "Sensorimotor Polyneuropathy" mean?

Okay, so I'm totally new to this thread, and super confused. I started having sciatica issues the weekend before Christmas in 2011.

I was put on bedrest and given medications, and referred to an orthopedic dr, who spent 6 months finding out absolutely nothing. (Mri of my lumbar was normal except for very mild lumbar stenosis and scoliosis. The weird part was 3 years prior to this, he told me I had a degenerated disc in my L5-S1, but now says it's "fine?") He's never even examined me. I've never pointed out my pain location to him, he literally stands in the doorway for every appointment. I'm ******. He also made me fill out a form and highlight and underline paperwork that promised that I wouldn't sell or misuse the medication he was giving me. Way to make me feel like a drug addict.

Anyway, I begged for a neurology consult. Got one. Did a nerve conduction test, and pretty much failed everything on it. Conclusion of the test suggests "sensorimotor polyneuropathy and possible L5-S1 radiculopathy."

The biggest problem is that I went from having sciatica (which presented as just a mild burning sensation and lower back pain) to near constant electric throbbing in my entire right leg, both arms, and now my face. It's been 8 months, and now my entire right side is affected, and I can't get 3 doctors to communicate with me or each other.