View Single Post
Old 08-26-2012, 07:35 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by mymarie View Post
no need to apologize, no offense taken. I have no intention of adding any meds to my regimen. Is PN disabling or just literally a pain you live with? Do your symptoms vary as far as the numbness and tingling through out the day? You know as being a nurse I guess I have not learned much about this disorder and feel quite ignorant. I know everyone is different but interested in hearing how others do and what they experience in sensations.
The nerve conduction study showed that I had 'sensory' neuropathy. That means that the surface, or long nerves that are closer to the surface are the ones affected. I don't have sensory-motor neuropathy (think that's how they spell it), if the motor region of the nerves are affected, then the mechanics of movement are affected too. You might get drop-foot, where it drags, for instance. I guess you could say that mine is strictly a variety of pains and not technically a handicap in the classic sense. Problem is, one of the symptoms is swelling (edema) in the feet and legs which are due to circulation problems caused by the nerves not working to constrict the capillaries and push the blood through, so fluid is created. I had it going up into my knee, and causing great pain and handicapping me. I got that under control eventually with diuretics, which I don't use all the time because I don't need to.
My situation goes like this - I have numbness in my feet, have a little feeling in the arch area, but not much, the rest is pretty numb. I have stinging and burning, which I control with gabapentin (neurontin). One 300 mg pill lasts almost 4 hours. Then I feel the stinging and take another one. On and on.