View Single Post
Old 09-20-2012, 09:27 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

hi wbwo,

Just like your daughter I am a college student and I am on lamictal. My long term memory isn't the best either. Sometimes my family will talk about things I have done years ago, which I should remember, and I have no memory of ever doing it. It also effects my school work like your daughter. I have biology as my major and it requires a lot of studying and the information you are learning is constantly building on top of each other from class to class. When studying for tests I read the power points, or notes, over and over again until they are like pictures in my brain. When I get to the test it's almost like I can recall the exact slide, or place I wrote it, to answer the question. I study the most the two days leading up to the test and make sure I read thru every single thing right before the test just so it's fresh in my mind. I also have to sometimes review past classes to refresh what I had previously learned, because I have a hard time remembering it. I know everyone is different when it comes to studying, even when they don't have epilepsy, so it's even harder when it's thrown into the loop. These are just the things that work for me. I take hours studying but it pays off in the long run.