View Single Post
Old 09-24-2012, 01:46 AM
Legendary

15 yr Member
Legendary

15 yr Member

Kristen,

Thanks for your honesty about your driving struggles. It is the start of learning to self-evaluate. PCS causes many blind spots, both visually and cognitively. I used to be a private pilot and owned my own high performance aircraft. I stopped flying after my second episode where I landed my plane without completing the pre-landing checklist.

Checklists are drummed into the mind of pilots during training. I used them with discipline. I know I started the pre-landing checklist but only completed 2 or 4 checklist steps. The second time this happened, I realized something was wrong and parked my plane while trying to figure out what happened.

When I drive, I am aware that I sometimes have similar struggles. At least when I am driving, the car will not dig a smoking hole into the ground. It still requires serious discipline to drive safely.

If you see a driving rehab therapist, please keep in mind that they only see you drive in limited circumstances. My check ride went lousy for me but the therapist said I was fine to drive because I pulled over and stopped when I had a problem. She did not consider the problems that could have arisen if I did not have a chance to pull over and stop. I had a melt down crossing a very busy intersection with cars, bikes, and pedestrians. I made it to the other side and stopped.

Regarding nutrition, I recommend a daily regimen of:
Vitamin b-12, 1000 mcgs
a B-50 complex
a high potency multi-vitamin like GNC Mega Women (not One a Day or Centrum)
C,
D3,
E,
Magnesium,
Calcium
Omega 3, 6, and 9 fish oil

Avoid caffeine, alcohol, MSG, and artificial sweeteners (aspartame/Equal/Nutrasweet and sucralose/Splenda are the worst)

Good meat protein is good from amino acids, pork is the best.

Regarding your job,