View Single Post
Old 12-09-2012, 09:28 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Question 28 yo male, need opinions

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting on a site like this (although I have been an avid site stalker). I really wanted to reach out and get some folks opinions as to what could be going on with me.

I am a 28 year old (recently married) male of average weight. I have no pertinent medical history (except for ADHD since the age of 5). Starting in the Fall-Winter of 2010 my health started to deteriorate. It started with a rash and minor tingling in my left hand – At the time I failed to mention the tingling because it was so minor, and the rash was ultimately diagnosed as Pityriasis Rosea. The catch is the rash went away in a few days, which pretty much eliminates that diagnosis.

Over a period of several months, multiple neurologists, a bazillion tests the PN extended to my left foot, right hand, and left hand – I have never had right foot involvement. The PN was strictly a minor tingling sensation – annoying. I do think some fatigue and brain fog accompanied it. After seeing some good doctors, we determined my B12 was low normal, and my D was CRAZY low. We ‘ruled out’ celiac via blood test and endoscopy. My neurologist recommended I start taking 600 mg of alpha lipoic acid, which in conjunction with a gluten free diet started to rapidly make me feel better.