View Single Post
Old 03-02-2013, 12:02 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

Hi Jasmine

I had my aneurysm clipped by Dr Mark Dexter at Westmead Private Hospital, and I will be completely honest - I think he is almost a god! He was absolutely fantastic, and although it was done in 2004, I saw him for a routine follow up last year, and he also treated my friend's mother - she had terminal brain cancer, so her outcome was not good, but once again, he was fantastic - caring, compassionate and incredibly talented - even the nurses love him (and that says a lot).

I was in hospital for nearly two weeks when I had my surgery - I live in Parkes (Central Western NSW) - five hours from the hospital, so they wanted to keep me there to make sure all was well. I also have a blood disorder that causes me to have low platelets and I have multiple sclerosis - so my risk of bleeding was higher, and recovery rate a little slower.

I am a TAFE teacher, teaching business, word processing, spreadsheets, database etc. I was lucky enough to be able to take six months off work - and I confess I REALLY needed it. Cognitively, I had lots of trouble at first with word finding, short-term memory, processing sequential data/tasks, sensory overload (lights, colours, movement, noise). I also found that the fatigue was crushing and debilitating - especially for the first six weeks or so.

BUT IT GOT A LITTLE BIT BETTER - EVERY DAY

And so did I. We all have our own experiences. I don't know how many of mine are attributable to the aneurysm surgery and how much belongs to my MS - although, I think if you check out other people's posts, my road is similar to many others.

Bear in mind, that when this surgery is done in a controlled environment, by expert doctors, it is very safe - the alternative does not even bear thinking about, so consider it an extraordinary gift to have found it and be able to take control.