View Single Post
Old 03-20-2013, 09:55 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Hi, everyone!

I am new to this forum, so hope I don't mess up trying to send my message...

I am 66, married with 3 children and 5 granddaughters. I now live in Ocala, FL, after growing up and living in the Washington, D. C. area for most of my life.

I am new to CRPS. Let me say right away that I feel very fortunate that I have a very, very mild case after reading some of your postings.

I had thumb joint replacement surgery 7/31/12 on my left hand. I started with hand therapy 2 days after surgery. After a month, both of the hand therapists I had seen suspected I had CRPS and started me doing the exercises that would help treat it. One of them called my surgeon and moved my appointment with him up a whole week so he could see my hand and confirm their suspicions of CRPS.

My surgeon started me on Gabapentin (Neurontin) and increased the dose very slowly to 300 mg 3xday, which I understand is pretty much a normal dose. I had a very shiney hand that would sweat with any exercise, even my individual fingers, which was really weird. The pain and swelling I was having were more than I should have been having from this surgery, which I had just had 7 months earlier on my right hand. My hand was usually very hot and a mottled red. I had sensitivity around the scar and on my forearm near my wrist. Those were pretty much all the symptoms I had. Oh, yes. I did have some weird hair growth on both forearms with dark hair growing wildly. It isn't that noticeable, so short of shaving my forearms and hoping the hair grows in normally, I don't know what to do about that. I also had 3-4 hairs on the outside part of my left eyebrow that grew straight up towards my hairline and were very coarse. I yanked those suckers out as soon as I noticed them!