View Single Post
Old 03-23-2013, 11:58 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

Hi Mindy,

If you feel tired after seeing these colors it wouldn't surprise me if you are having either absence (petit mal) or complex partial sz. like I have. Before I started having sz. I was having migraine headaches and that in turn triggered the epilepsy. It's up to you but you might want to get a 2nd opinion about what's going on by seeing an Epileptologist as I mentioned before.
I have always had to depend on my husband to take me to work and pick me up and before I meant him I would have a family or friend pick me up and take me home and I would pay them. Now my husband and I live near a local bus stop so if he can't take me to work I can take the bus.
You mentioned that you are finishing up school to teach if I'm correct. I've been working in public school for almost 28 yrs. now. I work as a Teacher Aide in Special Education so I can relate to many students who have learning, physical or emotional disabilities, especially since I've had epilepsy since the age of 10 (50 now).
Yes, more brain damage can happen if a persons sz. are not under control and they have a lot of sz. over the yrs. This is what happened to me. I started out only having problems on the right temporal lobe but as time went by and my Drs. couldn't control my sz. with any meds the damage spread to the left temporal lobe and yrs. later to the frontal lobe. I finally had 2 brain surgeries done to help reduce the sz. and I may be having a 3rd surgery done once the FDA passes Electrode Arrays for epilepsy but that won't be for awhile.