View Single Post
Old 04-24-2013, 08:29 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by tegu65 View Post
Tpont21,

It sounds like you and I were in an accident around the same time. I was in a taxi cab crash in New York City. The driver lost control of the car on a bridge and I don't remember a thing about what happened. Shortly after that there was a death in my family, so i had to kind of put the accident/recovery on the back burner to deal with everything else. I don't mean this to be a sob story . I'm interested in comparing some of what I've been feeling, though, with someone who has been through something similar. I feel as though there are...holes in my brain, if that makes any sense. I think of a kind of lattice, as though there are things missing. I'm incredibly moody, spacey; I feel unreal a lot. I have constant headaches and concentrating for long periods of time (I'm an editor), is often a source of anguish. I forget things--but strange things. For example, I realized the other day that I had absolutely no idea how a book I read quite recently ended. I even debated whether I'd read the ending. This for me is strange, because I remember things like this. I'm also obsessed with the accident itself, like if I remember what happened, things will make sense. Anyway, that's me...Like I said, I'm just looking to compare experiences since it seems like no one who hasn't been through this really understands what I'm saying. And most of the time I just say "Oh, the car accident? That's old news. I'm totally fine." I feel like I'm whining anytime I complain or talk about it--even to my therapist. Anyways...
Tegu,

The symptoms you mentioned are very similar to mine. Trouble concentrating and feeling "spacey" is normal for a concussed individual. With time you will feel better but you must be patient.