View Single Post
Old 05-14-2007, 04:46 PM
Legendary

15 yr Member
Legendary

15 yr Member

Quote:
Anyone who's taken care of sick, elderly people knows that "assisting" them when they've "had enough" has always been an option.

A caring doctor or a caring nurse who's really involved in taking care of their patients, knows them by name, knows the family, even makes home visits -- those kinds of caring people have always been willing to give just a tiny bit more morphine so that it 'helps the patient along on their journey'. The medical community even has a term for it.
Well, doing that is illegal here (same place where that article that Alffe posted originates from. I'm sure it happens, but it's illegal. If something is already illegal then lawyers and laws and organizations and governments are already involved.

I'm an old nurse myself. I totally understand your concerns, Moose, however, I think I've grown to a place where I can step back and reverse the situation and say ok, this is what I would do for someone else that I know or love who is dying and it's the same as I would give to someone in a hospital setting that I didn't know personally. I would do absolutely everything in my heart and natural abilities to care for them... To care for their bodies and care for their spirit and be with them even if they didn't know I was there.

but...

is it the same as I would want for myself? No, it's not. It's totally different. I see it more about dying comfortably than dying with dignity. Dignity is something that others might feel who are caring for the person. Comfort is what the dying person should feel. If in 5 or 10 or 20 years time and I've lost my mind and lying in some horrid little space I do not want my children or anyone else for that matter to think that prolonging my life in any way serves any part of dignity on my behalf. It won't.